american college
of legal medicine

Log in

Telemedicine: Understanding the Legal and Regulatory Landscape

  • Thu, July 29, 2021
  • 1:00 PM - 2:30 PM
  • Zoom

Registration


Register

“Telemedicine: 

Understanding the Legal and Regulatory Landscape” 

Join us for this Virtual Meeting 

Thursday, July 29, 2021

1:00 pm EDT/12:00 pm CDT/11:00 am MST/10:00 am PDT

Speakers

Joseph D Piorkowski, Jr, DO, JD, MPH, FCLM

Michael L Brooks, MD, JD, FCLM


Who should attend: Physicians, Dentists, other Health Care Professionals, and Attorneys representing Healthcare Professionals or Institutions involved in telemedicine.

At the conclusion of this activity, participants should be able to:  

1) consider under what circumstances and for what specialties telemedicine might be beneficial for their practice; 2) understand the prerequisites of incorporating telemedicine, such as training staff, retooling workflow, and adopting telemedicine-specific procedures, including the financial costs; 3) incorporate steps to increase the effective delivery of telemedicine; 4) appreciate the unique aspects of telemedicine that may increase physician liability and understand the steps that may be taken to reduce such liability; 5) be knowledgeable generally about state/medical board laws that may impact or restrict a telemedicine practice; and 6) understand the role of medical insurance carriers and the challenges to obtaining payment for the provision of telemedicine.

The American College of Legal Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The American College of Legal Medicine designates this activity for a maximum of 1.5 hours - CME credits 1.5 hours category 1 credit. Physicians should claim only credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.”

In compliance with ACCME Accreditation Criteria, the American College of Legal Medicine, as the accredited provider of this activity, must ensure that anyone in a position to control the content of the educational activity has disclosed all relevant financial relationships with any commercial interest. All reported conflicts are managed by a designated official to ensure a bias-free presentation. This activity is being presented without bias or commercial support.


The American College of Legal Medicine does not offer continuing legal education (CLE) credit for participation in this activity, although participants are free to attempt to obtain CLE credit from their state bars on an individual basis.

  ACLM
515 N Dearborn Street
Chicago, IL 60654

P. (312) 624-9681
F. (312) 670-3646
E. info@aclm.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software