american college
of legal medicine

Log in

Leaving Against Medical Advice: Tiptoeing Around the Medical-Legal Minefields

  • Tue, May 25, 2021
  • 1:00 PM
  • Zoom

Registration


Registration is closed

“Leaving Against Medical Advice: 

Tiptoeing Around the Medical-Legal Minefields” 

Join us for this Virtual Meeting 

Tuesday, May 25, 2021

1:00 pm EDT/12:00 pm CDT/11:00 am MDT/10:00 am PDT

Speakers

Jeffrey Segal, JD, MD

Founder and CEO, Medical Justice Services, Inc.

Course description:

This program will provide a basic overview of medical-legal issues relating to situations in which patients express the desire to leave the hospital or forego medical care against medical advice and will address the legal doctrines that come into play in the provider-patient interaction in this context. 

Who should attend: Physicians, Dentists, and other Health Care Professionals.

At the conclusion of this activity, participants should be able to:  

Understand the effect of an appropriate discharge against medical advice on a physician’s duty to treat; appreciate the need for evaluation of a patient’s competency to make specific legal decisions; be knowledgeable about the doctrines of patient negligence and assumption of the risk in the context of leaving or foregoing treatment against medical advice; understand appropriate processes for informed consent and informed refusal; and understand the role of medical insurance carriers and their role in patient decisions to leave against medical advice. 

The American College of Legal Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The American College of Legal Medicine designates this activity for a maximum of 1.0 hours - CME credits 1.0 hours category 1 credit. Physicians should claim only credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.”

In compliance with ACCME Accreditation Criteria, the American College of Legal Medicine, as the accredited provider of this activity, must ensure that anyone in a position to control the content of the educational activity has disclosed all relevant financial relationships with any commercial interest. All reported conflicts are managed by a designated official to ensure a bias-free presentation. This activity is being presented without bias or commercial support.


The American College of Legal Medicine does not offer continuing legal education (CLE) credit for participation in this activity, although participants are free to attempt to obtain CLE credit from their state bars on an individual basis.

  ACLM
515 N Dearborn Street
Chicago, IL 60654

P. (312) 624-9681
F. (312) 670-3646
E. info@aclm.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software