american college
of legal medicine

Log in

Non-Compete Provisions in the Medical Profession: Trends, Limitations, and How to Protect Your Interests

  • Thu, April 29, 2021
  • 1:00 PM
  • Zoom

Registration


Registration is closed

Trends, Limitations, and How to Protect Your Interests


Join us for this Virtual Meeting
 

Thursday, April 29, 2021

1:00 pm EDT/12:00 pm CDT/11:00 am MDT/10:00 am PDT

Speakers

Robert R. Harrison, JD

Partner, Stilling and Harrison Health Care Law

Anne P. Hovis, JD

Counsel, The Piorkowski Law Firm, PC 

Course description:

The program will describe non-compete provisions, their purposes, and components. It will discuss state and federal trends in enforceability of non-compete provisions, particularly in the context of the medical profession; and review basic guidelines for protecting your interests, whether seeking to protect your business interests or to retain maximum flexibility in your future career.  

Who should attend: Physicians, Dentists, other Health Care Professionals, and Attorneys representing Health Care Professionals, Hospitals, or Health Care Organizations.

At the conclusion of this activity, participants should be able to:  

 

    Gain a broad understanding of non-compete provisions in employment contracts, their purposes and components.

    Discuss current state and federal trends in enforceability of non-compete provisions, particularly in the context of the medical profession.

    Assess the ethical and health policy implications of non-compete provisions in physician contracts.

    Understand the position of the American Medical Association on non-compete provisions in physician employment contracts.

    Develop basic guidelines for protecting physician interests in negotiating non-compete provisions, whether business interests or career flexibility.

 

The American College of Legal Medicine is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The American College of Legal Medicine designates this activity for a maximum of 1.5 hours - CME credits 1.5 hours category 1 credit. Physicians should claim only credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.”

In compliance with ACCME Accreditation Criteria, the American College of Legal Medicine, as the accredited provider of this activity, must ensure that anyone in a position to control the content of the educational activity has disclosed all relevant financial relationships with any commercial interest. All reported conflicts are managed by a designated official to ensure a bias-free presentation. This activity is being presented without bias or commercial support.


  ACLM
515 N Dearborn Street
Chicago, IL 60654

P. (312) 670-2550
F. (312) 670-3646
E. info@aclm.org

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software